RSS

Databases

Peacham Library offers two databases – Vermont Online Library (VOL) and Heritage Quest Online.  Both databases require a user name and password.  If you are at the library, just click on the links in the Favorites list in the web browser.  To access either database from home, ask a librarian for the password.

Vermont On Line offers a wide range of resources from searchable databases to full text magazines, from career planning tools to language learning. 

Database searching

  • You can search any checked database by simply typing in the Find box at the top of the page.  From the results you can click on full text of PDF to read an article.  You can also filter the results. 
  • Instead of searching with the Find you can click on continue to reach the Power Search option.  Here you can further refine your search by searching on subject, keyword, or entire document, and then further by type of publication (magazines, academic journals, books or multimedia).  There are many possibilities for you to explore.  For a more sophisticated search, in the orange toolbar, select Advance Search to use Boolean operators.
  • If you want to read a magazine, rather than search for a topic, select Browse Publication in the orange toolbar and then type in the name of the magazine.  You can read entire magazines, one article at a time.
  • To get help in the Power Search area, click on Toolbox in the blue toolbar at the top of the screen.
  • Click on Change Databases in the blue toolbar to return to the database selection screen

Career Help

  • To learn about careers, job searches and how to apply for jobs, scroll to the bottom and select Career Transitions.  This will bring you to a new screen where you can choose to set up a profile in order to save your work.
  • Once you’ve decided on whether or not to have a profile, you are presented with options to discover your interests, explore careers, prepare a resume and find jobs.
  • With a profile (which can add at any time) all your work is saved for you to access at a later time.

Foreign Languages

  • To learn a language, scroll down to the bottom of the opening screen and select Powerspeak Languages.  Here you can choose from French, Spanish, German, ESL Spanish and Mandarin.
  • Each language requires that you setup an account so that your work is saved.

Heritage Quest Online provides tools for genealogical searches.  There are tools for searching census records (up to 1930), books, and periodicals.  In addition, you can search records from Freedman’s Bank depositors, pension and bounty-land-warrant application files based service in the Revolutionary War, and the US Serial Set, a collection of documents from the House and Senate concerning Private Relief Actions, Memorials, and Petitions.  There is a link at the top of the screen for help.

 

Comments are closed.